top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBarbara Retzko

Another sunrise…

sunrise-1

I began my teaching career at New Providence High School…1979.  I was responsible for the Ninth Grade Girls Chorus and Group Voice Classes.  It was a part-time position.  At the end of the year, I was RIF’ed (Reduction in Force) because there was no budget to retain the position.  Fortunately, my Supervisor knew of an opening in his hometown and called the Superintendent with a recommendation.  Hence, my career in Bernards Township began in 1980.  Forty years ago.

I am a Choral Director.  It’s the only thing I know.  Middle School, High School, International School and College.  Projects are my passion.  Planning and problem solving are my lifeline.  Mentoring and advising are part of the mix.  And lately, folks are asking me about retirement.  Retirement? Really? Other people retire.  Parents retire.  Why are you all asking me about retirement?

Forty years is more than half a lifetime.  “You can do anything in retirement,” they say.    “When the time comes, you’ll know, ” they say.  “Don’t retire, rewire,” they say.  Really? Me?

No one ever told me or suggested I think past my career.  Plan ahead.  Prepare for the “third” chapter. It’s a lecture I’d like to share with every college grad although they probably wouldn’t listen.  I’m certain it would have been lost on me if I had heard it in my 20’s.  But here I am,  faced with the reality of retiring someday.  It’s just surreal.

I can’t imagine not going to Ridge every day.  The “R” word is just not a part of my vocabulary.

So, on Tuesday I will begin another year with two days of Inservice.  The students come on Thursday.  We’ll review the rules, start voice testing, number and distribute music, meet with our new accompanist, campaign and elect new officers.  The A Cappella Choir will have its get-to-know-you retreat and the administration will share their new initiatives.  Away we’ll go.

The start of another year.

Another sunrise…

Hope we all have a good one.

Thanks, as always for reading.

Barbara

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CODA

bottom of page